• Personalized Cover
  • Subscribe to a Magazine
Item Posts    Sort Order

1992 gt a good buy?

filthpig
New User
Posted: 07/30/09 07:02 AM

Hey

I am new to the whole mustang scene..hell I am new to the "Cars older then 2000" scene. The last year or so I have been obsessed to the fox body mustang although I have no experiance with them. Anyway I have been eyeing this 1992 mustang gt thats for sale down the road and before I invent the money into it I just wanted the opinion of people who know what they are talking about. I plan on putting a lot of work into over the years but I was curious to know if it is worth the investment..are parts difficult to find for the car? In ten years will I feel like I am in a National Treasure movie to find what I need to maintain my car. Again I have no prior "restoration" experiance. Thanks for your input.  

Michael Johnson
Enthusiast
Posted: 07/31/09 06:10 AM

If you are obsessed with Fox body Mustangs you owe it to yourself to at least give it a go. Get some details on the car you're looking at because if it turns out to be a piece of junk, you'll never want another Mustang, and we don't want that. Parts are all over the place for Fox bodies so don't worry about that. They are relatively inexpensive to maintain as well. Just take your time, get solid advice, and go for it.  
Michael Johnson
Associate Editor
5.0 Mustang and Super Fords

Sharad
User
Posted: 07/31/09 07:07 AM

Good advice from Johnson. Get someone that knows these cars to check it out and make sure it's solid. From there, your options are limited only by your bank account. The aftermarket for these cars is out of control! You want it, you've got it. You will absolutely have a blast. These are addicting little boogers, man. I just picked another one up this past weekend. I lost count somewhere around 35 Mustangs that I've owned. (I'm 33 yrs old)