• Back Issues
  • Personalized Cover
  • Subscribe to a Magazine
Item Posts    Sort Order

66 Mustang Battery Drain

DickC
New User
Posted: 07/29/08 03:38 PM

Our 66 Coupe (289-2V, auto, pwr steering/brakes, after market security alarm) keeps running down the battery, overnight.  Auto Zone tested it; first-found the battery was bad (bought a new one), second-checked alternator, charging okay, third-found that the voltage regulator was bad (replaced with a new one from NAPA); each time, the next day the battery was dead and car had to be jump started.  Can anyone tell me where to start/what procedures/tests to run (with a multimeter?) to find the electrical drain/short/or?  Thanks.  

soaring3
Enthusiast
Posted: 07/29/08 03:54 PM

I am no electrician, but I might help you isolate the problem.  First, you want to make sure that no lights are left on such as the glove box or interior. I am no electrician but you want to split the electric wiring in half to find out if the drain is coming from the engine compartment, or from the dash, or from the rear.  To the left and up from your Master Cylinder is a wiring plug.  Pull that out and let the car sit overnight with a full battery charge.  Plug that back in and if the car starts the next moring, the the short is not in the engine compartment.  If you take the kick panel off the driver's side, you will see the connections for the rear part of the car.  Unplug them and repeat the same thing.  If the car starts the next day, then you now know where the short is.  If it doesn't, then your brake lights have been on all night.  Yeah, mine started sticking a few months ago, and that was my problem.  Hit the brake switch attached to the brake pedal with some WD-40 or get a new switch. If that ain't it, it's under the dash.  Do you enjoy lying on your back with a multi-meter?  I didn't think so.  But, that is what you are going to have to do.  Take the gauge pod out, get yourself a good wiring diagram and start testing.  
soaring3