• Subscribe to a Magazine
Item Posts    Sort Order

Replace EGR Carb Spacer with Non EGR Spacer

Gregski
Enthusiast
Posted: 04/13/10 08:19 PM

If I am not concerned with SMOG and emissions can I replace the mid '75's EGR carburetor spacer I have now with an early '71 style non EGR one, or better yet do I need a spacer at all?

My Motorcraft 2150 carb has a PCV port on the base of it, so I placed the carb on the intake manifold without any spacers and I did not have any clearance problems. I did google carb spacers and I guess they serve a purpose other than giving you an inch of height, but I figure I ask you anyways if I need one. I figure with it I can have leaks between the carb and the spacer as well as between the spacer and the intake manifold, so I am thinking why not just eliminate it all together.

Again I am new to this car stuff so please be gentle. Pictures below:

96149D1271207838 Replace Egr Carb Spacer Non Egr Spacer Egr Spacer 1

96150D1271207838 Replace Egr Carb Spacer Non Egr Spacer Non Egr Spacer 1  

mechanicalguy48
Guru
Posted: 04/14/10 09:26 PM

If you remove the spacer the carb will be exposed directly to manifold heat. Most carbs need the spacer to help in hot idle situations to keep the idle from degrading. Spacers should be used with the thick gasket also. The spacer shown there has a balancing slot which is fine but when you use it with a thick gasket it will eat away the gasket where its exposed at the balancing slot there, so its probably better to trim it for that spacer. By the way, the old spacer was fine and looked emission ready, you cant tell if the egr valve is working or not, simply unplug and seal the vacuum line to the egr valve and no egr,,,, no real reason to replace it with a different spacer which may or may not seal correctly.  

waynep7122
Guru
Posted: 04/15/10 04:12 PM

i agree...    take the spacers off..   you will notice a big hole under the spacer.. this is open to the exhaust stream...