• Personalized Cover
  • Subscribe to a Magazine
123 Last
Item Posts    Sort Order

Optimus Prime - The '68 Coupe

Gregski
Enthusiast
Posted: 01/10/11 10:51 PM

In this post I would like to share with you the process I will go through to prime (or primer) I don't even know which one is proper, my 1968 Mustang coupe.

Why primer the car?

Well it looks like crap, and in order to get motivated to turn a wrench on it I can't have it look so depressing. Also I want to protect it from rust and prep it for a paint job.

I am doing this post for two reasons.

1. To ensure I stay motivate and committed to get this done.

2. To solicit your help and advice along the way.

A little background about myself. I am a computer nerd by trade. I have never primed and or painted a car before. I did however wet sand, primer, and paint a motorcycle before, and boy that was a lot of work. I swore never to do it again.

I don't have the money to have this professionally done and even if I did I would still attempt it myself to learn and enjoy the process and the results.

Now to set our expectations. I am not going for A results, B is good enough for me. Now that is not saying I will put in half @ss effort into this, I will work my butt off, but A being the work of a professional with years of experience and all the proper tools, my B is going to be the best an amateur can expect. Also I allow myself to make mistakes and roll with the punches.

So sit back pop open a cold one or pour yourself a hot cup of coffee and don't hold back those "otta boys!" LOL  

Gregski
Enthusiast
Posted: 01/10/11 11:09 PM

Ok, so first thing's first. What are we up against here? Let's see the canvas if you will. Well here it is, the way she looked the day I bought her. Some of you may have seen it already when I bragged about landing this beauty for a mere $800 bucks and a firm hand shake, others may have been spared till now.

DSCN4868

DSCN4870

DSCN4873

DSCN4884  

Gregski
Enthusiast