• Personalized Cover
  • Subscribe to a Magazine
12 Last
Item Posts    Sort Order

3.8L cuts out under load

nealyates5
New User
Posted: 06/26/13 11:32 AM

I'm no mechanic, so bear with me, please. Some of this may be irrelevant.

Car:
1985 LX ragtop. 3.8L with C5 a/t, p/s, & p/b. Car nicely restored at 80K about 12-15 years ago by unknown prior owner. In Connecticut. Used summers only. Now 135K. Dry stored Nov-April.

Problem: Engine starts and runs okay, but dies as soon as lever dropped into Reverse or Drive. Doesn't sputter, just shuts off as if someone threw a switch.

Historical info:Last fall, had run car for five summers without incident. One day, transmission hesitated when shifted into drive, so I checked a/t fluid, Stick read low, so I bought and added correct fluid as called for in my Bently manual. But I am pretty sure I overfilled it (at least, the cold checks indicate very high level).

For rest of season I noticed that whenever I came to a rapid stop or turned steering wheel completely left or right at idle, engine felt as if it would just die off, so used less brake or more gas to keep it running. Then, first thing every morning, after backing out of the garage (R was fine), when shifted into D, it would not upshift to 2 or 3, until I manually moved the lever around from 2 to 3 to 2 or some combination, then it would shift fine for the rest of the day (Tranny as always been very smooth, with no signs of slipping). Same thing happend every morning.

Had linkage adjusted and that seemed to cure most of the shifting poroblem, but continued to come close to stall when stopping quick or twisting wheel to parallel park. Put car away for season. Took it out in April